Skip to main content

Letter of Rec:

If you need a letter of recommendation from your counselor/teacher/mentor for a college application, scholarship program, and/or any other activity, you need to complete this form. Remember that the counselor/teacher/mentor writing your recommendation wants to do a good job for you, so it’s important that you follow all directions.

Schoology

Counseling

counselors

Vision Statement

The Costa Mesa High School/Middle School Counseling Program will empower all students to find their passion, find their purpose, and find their path. Students will become independent thinkers, problem solvers, and compassionate leaders in their journey to contribute as active members in their communities and beyond.

Mission Statement

The mission of the Costa Mesa High School/Middle School Counseling Department is to proactively provide a safe environment that promotes academic achievement, exposure to career pathways, preparation for higher education, and optimal social/emotional development. In partnership with district priorities and the school-wide action plan the counseling department will infuse innovative technology to collaborate with all stakeholders to ensure that students meet their fullest potential. Our comprehensive, data-driven counseling program will facilitate opportunities for every student to develop self-advocacy, leadership, character, and the confidence to contribute in meaningful ways to the world at large.

Contact Us

Counselors at Costa Mesa High School/Middle School are readily available to assist students, parents, and staff. There will be a counselor available without an appointment on a drop-in basis before and after school, at nutrition break, and at lunch. If your assigned counselor is not available at that time, another counselor will gladly assist you.

Parents:

  • CALL - To make an appointment with your child’s counselor, please call the counseling office directly at 714-424-8704.
  • EMAIL or call your child’s counselor directly.
  • DROP-IN depending on availability.

Students:

  • DROP-IN depending on availability.
  • EMAIL your counselor directly.
  • CALL during non-school hours and leave a message.

 

Counselors

Karli Tsuge, Counselor
High School Last Names A-G 
Ktsuge@nmusd.us


Janice Duzey, Counselor
High School Last Names H-O
 jduzey@nmusd.us


Jackie Gonzalez, Counselor
High School Last Names  P-Z
Jrgonzalez@nmusd.us
Lisa Gonzales, Temp Counselor
lagonzales@nmusd.us


Megan Swanek, Counselor
Grades (7th & 8th) 
mswanek@nmusd.us


Staff

Rondi Covert, Registrar 
rcovert@nmusd.us


Debbie Walthers, Counseling Department Secretary
dwalthers@nmusd.us


Irasema Mc Allister, School/Community Facilitator 10-12
imcallister@nmusd.us


Olivia Maldonado, School/Community Facilitator 7-9
omaldonado@nmusd.us


College & Career Center

Mrs. Nagy, ROP Career Specialist
arnagy@nmusd.us


Suzy Angulo, College Specialist
azangulo@nmusd.us

CMHS Scholarship Application

flyer